Our Mission

In promoting the academic, professional, cultural and social development of LGBTQ faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Chicago, the Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People (CCSLGBTQP) is devoted to the following tasks:

  • Communicating the various elements concerning the status of the LGBTQ community at UIC to administration.
  • Leading the cultivation of a positive, equitable environment where LGBTQ people may thrive in all areas and levels of their UIC experience.
  • Developing university programs designed to improve the quality of opportunities and curricula available to the LGBTQ community.
  • Enhancing UIC’s relationship with the various LGBTQ alumni and communities throughout the Chicago-land area.


Katja Tetzlaff, College of Applied Health Sciences
Email: ktetzl2@uic.edu
Co-Chair 2018-2020

Our Members 2019-2020

Evelyn Figueroa, College of Medicine
Liam Boyd Bellinger, College of Education
David Perez, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Brenikki R. Floyd, School of Public Health
Stuart (Essie) Ghafoor, College of Medicine
Ronak Kapadia, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Chuck P. LaChance, Counseling Center
Timothy Murphy, Department of Medical Education
Arjun Mitra, College of Business Administration
Jacob Mueller, College of Medicine
Em Rabelais, College of Nursing
Tia Barr, College of Applied Health Sciences
James Swartz, Jane Addams College of Social Work
Bernard Santarsiero, College of Pharmacy
Surya Sabhapathy, College of Medicine, Psychiatry
John Cummins, College of Medicine, Psychiatry
Moises Villada, Gender and Sexuality Center
Jordan Turner, Gender and Sexuality Center

Contact Us

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.